2. Apps‎ > ‎

d. Drive

Access, organize and share all your files from any device, anywhere

Introduction

Where do I find Google's own information about Google Drive?

Details are on the Google Apps Learning Center here.

How much space do I have on my Google Drive?

Compared to Dropbox and Microsoft OneDrive, your Google Drive limit is much larger... 30G.

What is Team Drive?

Team Drive is a new feature of Google Drive (March 2017) that overcomes two problems users often run into when using Google Drive collaboration in the traditional way:
  • When people who have shared Google Drive content leave the organization, their files disappear unless they or the SIL Google Admin team have transferred ownership of that content to someone else
  • When people move content to other folders or even delete content (move files to the trash, those files are rearranged for everyone.
Team Drive provides a place to put files owned by the team (not the individual), so that when a person leaves, any files they've placed on a Team Drive remain.  It also allows the Team Drive administrators to control who may move or delete files, so files remain in expected locations.


You will see an area labeled Team Drives in your Google Drive (online only).  You can create more than one Team Drive.
Comments and Best practices:
  • Use Team Drives to share material intended for public view with others.  Keep personal files and folders that others shouldn't see in My Drive.
  • For improved collaboration, create a Team Drive for each project and assign the highest access level to all team members.
  • For users who need to move large amounts of their content from their My Drive to Team Drives, contact SIL Google Admin for help.
  • Members of a Team Drive have access to everything in that Team Drive.  Access to subfolders cannot be restricted.
  • You can only move files to a Team Drive that you own.  You must ask the owner of files they own to move them to the Team Drive (if they are a member of that Team Drive).
  • Individual files within a Team Drive can be shared directly with non-Team Drive members.  When this happens, the file will appear in their "Shared with me".  They will not be able to choose "Add to My Drive" or add that file to another Team Drive.
Interestingly, there is no mention about a quota for a Team Drive and Google Support (as of March 2017) is saying there is also no impact on an individual user's Google Drive storage quota.
For more information on Team Drives, refer to details on the G Suite Learning Center.

What is Drive File Stream?

Launched to early adopters in March, Drive File Stream is a new desktop application that allows you quickly access all of your Google Drive files on demand, directly from your computer, meaning you use almost none of your hard drive space and spend less time waiting for files to sync and minimize the amount of company data stored on your hard drives if the device is stolen.

You can also make Drive files available for offline access. These cached files sync back to the cloud when you're online, so the latest version is available on all your devices.

Features:

  • ·       Access files in My Drive
  • ·       Access files in Team Drives
  • ·       Stream files on demand
  • ·       Sync only selected folders in My Drive
  • ·       Sync only individual files in My Drive
  • ·       Use native applications like MS Word and Photoshop

Click here for Google’s overview of Drive File Stream.  Click here to view a 90 second demo of Drive File Stream on YouTube though there’s not much covered..

Be aware that Google Drive for Mac/PC is officially deprecated and will no longer be supported after December 11, with final shutdown March 12, 2018.

SIL Google Admin has verified that the setting to enable Drive File Stream is on and that the download link for Drive File Stream should appear in the Drive interface when Google turns this on (September 26, 2017).  Since there is an option to allow downloading of Google Drive for Mac/PC, we expect to disable that download ability after we test/prove Drive File Stream.

According to Google Support:

  • If a user runs Drive File Stream at the same time as Drive for Mac/PC, the user is prompted to stop syncing My Drive in Backup and Sync (or Drive for Mac/PC).

If users follow this prompt, they access My Drive only with Drive File Stream. This:

    • Frees up disk space
    • Improves performance
    • Provides a cleaner user experience with a single, preferred way to access My Drive

If users don’t follow this prompt, they access My Drive with Drive File Stream and also sync My Drive with Drive for Mac/PC. This:

    • Nullifies the saved disk space benefit of using only Drive File Stream
    • Potentially leads to confusion, as users see multiple instances of the Google Drive folder and its files
  • If you try to show download links for both applications, only the Drive File Stream link is shown.
The SIL Google Admin team will also be switching from the Google Drive Desktop app to this new solution and share any “lessons learned” with you.  In particular, we hope to a) understand what Drive File Stream settings are available to the user and b) the best guidance about when/how to uninstall the Google Drive Desktop app.

System requirements are Windows 7 and up and Mac 10.11 and up.


Other Google Drive resources